The Importance of CSCS Cards in the Construction Industry

The CSCS (Construction Skills Certification Scheme) is the leading skills certification scheme within the UK construction industry. The CSCS provides a variety of cards designed to offer proof that industry professionals have the correct training, skills and qualifications for the job they are working on. In fact, many major contractors and housebuilders require an individual to hold the relevant card for their position before they will allow them to work on site.

We are pleased to offer programmes and apprenticeships that make participants eligible for CSCS cards. The cards include:

Pink Apprentice Card –if you are an apprentice who has started a programme with us on a recognised framework you may be eligible to apply for a Pink Card. The Pink Card is valid for four years and six months and cannot be renewed.

Blue Skilled Worker Card – if you have completed one of our construction related apprenticeships and/ or gained a NVQ or SVQ Level 2 construction qualification you might be entitled to a Skilled Worker Card. Eligible programmes include our Level 2 Construction Apprenticeships, including Carpentry and Joinery, Construction Operations and Civil Engineering Services, and Trowel Occupations.

Gold Supervisory Card – if you have finished a construction based supervisory or technical NVQ or SVQ level 3 or 4 you could be eligible for a Gold Card. The Card is aimed at individuals looking to progress their construction career in a technical, managerial or supervisory role. Our suitable programmes include Occupational Work Supervision Level 3.

Not only can you achieve your NVQ with us, but you can also be tested for your CSCS Cards as we are an accredited testing centre. Please contact us for more information.

To find out more about the CSCS and its full range of cards, please see here

I just wanted to say the biggest thank you to Vanessa, my trainer. You have made my journey so much easier, I don’t know what I would have done without you. You have been amazing and helped me to achieve my qualification. You’ve guided me through every step of the way, I really appreciate it, Vanessa, you have been my rock.

Katie Shorland, Level 2 Hairdressing

I always struggled in school as I wasn’t very academic, so knew learning on the job would be a better option for me. I would find it difficult to get up for 9am but now I wake up and look forward to my day. I wanted to try a hair apprenticeship as I’ve always been interested in hairdressing, and by the end of the first week, I already loved it!

Jaimee Benson, Level 2 Hairdressing

I have developed a range of new skills through work including the technical, industry skills required for the job, to personal development such as ensuring I am always on time. The biggest change since leaving school is adjusting to the independence you gain from earning a salary. My advice to anyone thinking of doing an apprenticeship would be find what you like doing, and go for it!

Will Birch, Level 2 Bricklaying

Since starting the apprenticeship, I’ve become far more confident. In a classroom, you only interact with your classmates, but through working you develop your people skills as you interact with customers on a daily basis. At school, you are closely monitored and parented, however I am now more independent and feel grown up

Sam Collard, Level 2 Light Vehicle and Maintenance Repair

The most important thing I’ve learnt since leaving school is that there are other routes to success than just academia. I failed my GCSEs, as I never suited the school environment. Now though, I’m really enjoying my apprenticeship as I’ve discovered I learn more through hands-on practice.

Ben Freeman, Level 2 Carpentry

I would just like to thank you and your team for all the amazing work they do, you have provided me with the most invaluable experience which has helped to pave the way of my future. The work you do for young people is incredible!

Luke Kowalski, Teaching Assistant and former apprentice at Sir Robert Gefferys School